The naval hydrodynamics studies the resistance to the advancement of ships. Resistance to the advancement corresponds to the pushing force that will produce the propeller (see: Propeller calculation software). This resistance is composed of forces from several phenomena that are distinguished in the study but whose interactions are intertwined.

The results of calculations or measurements are usually given in the form of hydrodynamic coefficients Ch, relating the hydrodynamic resistance Rh, to the the weight of the volume of water displaced (Ch=Rh/Displacement)

the displacement of a vessel is the weight of water it displaces, so its volume immersed X density of water.

We assume that the environment is quiet (no swell wind or current) and we limit our discussion by neglecting the resistance of superstructure (about 3% of Rh), to the study of ship resistance to the advancement bareboat, by dividing it into two parts :viscous resistance and wave resistance. (See Froude)
  • viscous resistance (Rv), the viscous resistance coefficient (Cv) is related to Reynolds number (Re) and to roughness (K) relating hull length (L)
    • Rv= Cv . (Re . K/L)

If the object moves near the surface, viscous resistance or drag is accompanied by a resistance due to the formation of surface waves:

  • resistance of waves (Rw), the wave resistance coefficient (Cw) is related to Froude number(Fr)

we distinguish different types and causes of waves (learn more about resistance waves )

    • Rw= Cw.(Fr)

    • Cw =Rw/(1/2)r.s.v²(r water density, S wet surface, V velocity.
the total hydrodynamic resistance coefficient (Ch=Rh/Displacement) for bareboat moving near the surface is defined as:
  • Rv= Cv . (Re . K/L)

  • Rw= Cw.(Fr)

  • Ch= Cw.(Fr) + Cv.(Re.K/L)

Different types of approaches used to evaluate the hydrodynamic coefficient (Ch):

Despite advances in computer modeling, testing models are still essential.The effects of friction measured experimentally basins hulls, are themselves subject to scaling problems, solved by the laws of similarities(See: Froude)

effects of friction measured experimentally basins hulls

testing model Towing tank

Another technique for evaluating hydrodynamic behavior is to compare measured data from a series of standard forms and extrapolate the consequences of changing forms.

serie Taileur

resistance carene

serie NPL

resistance carene

serie Nordstrom

resistance carene

63 serie

resistance carene

serie SSPA

resistance carene

64

resistance carene

  • series taylor by Admiral Taylor Model Basin Experimental Ashington:

resistance carene

The series of taylor is still regarded as the most comprehensive research into the effects on the effective power..

resistance carene.

top page

  • In naval hydrodynamics, to independently evaluate the viscous resistance of the surface resistance, sometimes the method of dual models is used. It consists of a towing form consisting of a model hull of the ship and its symmetrical to the waterline. The measured drag is then halved. This experiment at sea is expensive and complex, it is carried in wind tunnel. For a simple and rapid assessment, it is possible to use the software mecaflux: The ovoid profile, whose drag (Cd) is already set in mecaflux, can be used to evaluate the viscous hydrodynamic resistance:

étude de la trainée d'une forme géometrique

This viscous resistance is composed of the frictional resistance and resistance of shape. It is estimated that the roughness is very low (aerodynamic polished). If the roughness is higher, the frictional resistance due to roughness can be calculated with the detailed study of flat plate in Mecaflux standard (tab drag-lift / profiles with drag):

resistance carene

performaces trainée et portance aerodynamique coque bateau sous marin

Top page

wave being caused by a hull

A body which moves over a quiet water surface produces a wave system. This system is produced by the pressure field around the body, wave energy is given by the body. This transfer of energy from the body to the surrounding system produces wave resistance. (En bref le bateau fait des jolies vagues pour le Wake surf mais ça lui coute de l'énergie et c'est pour ça que c'est cher le Wake surf...)

wave skiing

There are two types of wave systems produced by hull:

  1. A diverging wave system inclined relative to the axis of the vessel
  2. A system of transverse waves perpendicular to the axis of the vessel.
wave resistance

The transversal waves is the main actor of the wave resistance at low Froude number.it is produced by the bow (front of ship) and stern (back of the ship). The interference between the wave systems generates peaks and troughs along the sides of the hull.

For more information: the hydrodynamic hulls of boats and the calculation of the resistance to the advancement of a hull

The total hydrodynamic resistance coefficient (Ch) is defined as:

Ch= Cw.(Fr) + Cv.(Re.K/L)

(Ch=Rh/Displacement)

Examples of specific hydrodynamic ship resistances

top page

Hydrodynamique navale

L'hydrodynamique navale étudie la résistance à l'avancement des navires. La resistance a l'avancement correspond a la force de poussée que devra produire l'helice (voir: logiciel de calcul helice). Cette résistance est composée de forces provenant de plusieurs phénomènes que l'on distingues dans l'étude mais dont les interactions sont intimement mêlées.

Les résultats des calculs ou des mesures sont le plus souvent donnés sous forme de coefficients hydrodynamique Ch, mettant en rapport la résistance hydrodynamique Rh, et le poids du volume d'eau déplacé(Ch=Rh/Déplacement)

*le déplacement d'un navire est le poids d'eau qu'il déplace, donc son volume immergé X masse volumique de l'eau.

Nous supposerons que l'environement est calme (ni houle ni courant ni vent) et nous limiterons notre discussion en négligeant la resistance de superstructure (environ 3% de Rh), à l'etude de la résistance à la marche coque nue en la décomposant en deux parties : resistance visqueuse et résistance à la vague.(voir Froude)

  • la résistance visqueuse(Rv), dont le cofficient de résistance visqueuse(Cv) est lié au nombre de Reynolds(Re) et à la rugosité(K) relative à la longueur de la coque(L)
    • Rv= Cv . (Re . K/L)

Si l'objet évolue pres de la surface, la résistance visqueuse ou traînée sera accompagnée d'une resistance due à la formation de vagues en surface:

  • la resistance de vagues(Rw), dont le coefficient de résistance à la vague(Cw) est lié au nombre de Froude(Fr)

on distingue différentes formes et causes de vagues(resistance de vagues en savoir plus)

    • Rw= Cw.(Fr)

    • Cw =Rw/(1/2)r.s.v²(r masse volumique de l'eau, S surface mouillée, V vitesse.

Au total le coefficient de résistance hydrodynamique(Ch=Rh/Déplacement) pour une coque nue évoluant pres de la surface est donc défini comme:

  • Rv= Cv . (Re . K/L)

  • Rw= Cw.(Fr)

  • Ch= Cw.(Fr) + Cv.(Re.K/L)

Différents types d'approches permettent d'évaluer le Coefficient hydrodynamique (Ch):

  • Méthode d'éssais de modéles réduits en bassins de carènes:

Malgré les avancées dans le domaine de la modélisation informatique, les essais de modéles sont encore incontournables. Les effets de frottements mesurés expérimentalement en bassins de carènes sont eux-mêmes soumis à des problémes de changement d'échelle résolus grace aux lois de similitudes. (voir Froude)

resistance carene

essais de modèle réduit en bassin de carenes

  • Méthode des séries :Une autre technique d'évaluation des comportements hydrodynamique consiste à comparer des données mesurées sur des séries de formes types et extrapoler les conséquences des changement de formes. La résistance hydrodynamique spécifique(Rh/Déplacement*)est donnée en fonction du nombre de Froude dans des séries:

la série de Taileur

resistance carene

la série de NPL

resistance carene

la série de Nordstrom

resistance carene

les 63 séries

resistance carene

la série de SSPA

resistance carene

les 64 séries

resistance carene

  • ici la série de tailleur, par amiral Taylor au bassin modèle expérimental dans Ashington

resistance carene

La série de tailleur est encore aujourd'hui tenue pour la recherche la plus complète dans les effets sur la puissance efficace.

resistance carene.

haut de page

  • En hydrodynamique navale, pour évaluer la resistance visqueuse indépendament de la résistance de surface, on utilise parfois la méthode des doubles modèles. Elle consiste à remorquer en immersion profonde une forme, composée du modèle de carène d'un navire et de son symétrique à la ligne de flottaison. La traînée mesurée est ensuite divisée par deux . Cette expérimentation en mer étant coûteuse et complexe, on la réalise en soufflerie. Pour une evaluation simple et rapide, il est possible d'utiliser le logiciel mecaflux: Le profil ovoide dont la traînée(Cx) est déjà paramétrée dans Mecaflux peut servir à évaluer la résistance hydrodynamique visqueuse:

étude de la trainée d'une forme géometrique

Cette résistance visqueuse est composée de la résistance de frottement et de la résistance de forme. On estime que la rugosité est tres faible (poli aerodynamique). Si la rugosité est plus forte, La résistance de frottement due a la rugosité peut être calculée avec l'étude détaillée plaque plane dans Mecaflux(onglet trainée-portance/profils avec traînée).

resistance carene

performaces trainée et portance aerodynamique coque bateau sous marin

haut de page

train de vague provoqué par une carène

Un corps qui se déplace sur la surface calme de l'eau produit un système de vague. Ce système est produit par le champ de pression autour du corps et l'énergie des vagues est donnée par le corps. Ce transfert d'énergie à partir du corps au système environnant produit notre résistance de vague.(En bref le bateau fait des jolies vagues pour le Wake surf mais ça lui coute de l'énergie et c'est pour ça que c'est cher le Wake surf...)

vague de ski nautique

Il y a deux types de systèmes de vagues produits par la coque:

  1. Un système de vagues divergentes inclinées par rapport à l'axe du bateau
  2. Un système de vagues transversal perpendiculaire à l'axe du bateau.

vague resistance

Le système de vagues transversal (transvers wave) est l'acteur principale de la resistance de vague aux faibles nombre de Froude. il est produit par l'étrave (avant du navire "bow" )et la poupe (arrière du navire "stern") . L'interférence entre ces systèmes de vagues génère des creux et des crêtes le long des parois de la coque.

Pour en savoir plus: sur l'hydrodynamique des carènes de bateaux et le calcul de la resistance à l'avancement d'une carène

Au total le coefficient de résistance hydrodynamique(Ch) est défini comme:

Ch= Cw.(Fr) + Cv.(Re.K/L)

(Ch=Rh/Déplacement)

exemples de resistances hydrodynamique specifiques

haut de page